Skip to main content
You are here:

Science Museum Group Fellows

In 2009, as part of the Museum’s centenary celebrations, we launched the Science Museum Group Fellows Programme to recognise some of the scientists and individuals who have changed our world through academic research, design, technology and philanthropy.

Every year we invite selected individuals to join the programme and become Fellows of the Science Museum Group. Those listed below have been both nominated and elected.

2024 Fellowship Awards

  • Ellen Stofan—in recognition of her work as Under Secretary for Science and Research at the Smithsonian, as the John and Adrienne Mars Director of the Smithsonian’s National Air and Space Museum (2018–2021), chief scientist at NASA (2013–2016), and for engaging with the public, whether through books, events or lectures, including one at the Science Museum.
  • Dame Julie Maxton—in recognition of her work as Executive Director of the Royal Society, helping to forge a range of closer collaborations, from exhibits to committees and events, with the Group.
  • The Lord Willetts—in recognition of his work as chair of the UK Space Agency, Minister for Universities and Science, when he launched the UK’s first official astronaut at the Science Museum, and as a Trustee of the Science Museum Group, when he led the way in drawing up a new strategy.
  • Professor Jim Al-Khalili—in recognition of his work as a nuclear physicist and quantum biologist, as notable science populariser, ranging from TV and books to The Life Scientific, and for his participation in Science Museum Group projects and events.
  • Demis Hassabis—in recognition of his research on gaming, cognitive neuroscience and AI, and as founder of DeepMind, which has made a major AI contribution to science in the form of AlphaFold, and played a key role in ethical discussions about AI.

2023 Fellowship Awards

  • Dame Kate Bingham—in recognition for her work chairing the UK Government's Vaccine Taskforce and steering procurement of vaccines as well as the strategy for their deployment during the COVID-19 pandemic.
  • The Rt Hon Alok Sharma MP—in recognition for his leadership as the President of COP26 in 2021–2022.
  • HM The King—in recognition for his long record on environmental issues and promoting STEM careers. 
  • Professor Sir Adrian Smith—in recognition for his role as President of the Royal Society and Chief Executive of the Alan Turing Institute. As well as his contributions to Bayesian statistics. 
  • Dr Richard Henderson CH FRS FMedSci HonFRSC – in recognition for his development of cryo-electron microscopy which transformed the ability to determine the molecular structure of biological molecules and has won him the Copley Medal and a Nobel Prize, among other very well-merited honours.


  • Dame Deborah James, elected 2022 (d. 2022)
  • The Lord Sainsbury of Turville, elected 2022
  • Professor Alice Gast, elected 2022
  • Professor Lord Stern, elected 2022
  • Professor Dame Sarah Gilbert, elected 2022
  • Professor Sir Andrew Pollard, elected 2022
  • Professor Teresa Lambe OBE, elected 2022
  • Mr Charles Bolden Jr, elected 2021
  • Professor Dame Ottoline Leyser, elected 2021
  • Professor Simon Schaffer, elected 2021
  • Sir Roger Penrose, elected 2021
  • Professor the Lord Darzi of Denham, elected 2020
  • Professor Dame Sally Davies, elected 2020
  • Sir John Gurdon, elected 2020
  • Sir Gregory Winter, elected 2020
  • Dr Fabiola Gianotti, elected 2019
  • Sir Tim Berners-Lee, elected 2019
  • Baroness Lane Fox, elected 2019
  • Sir Neil Cossons, elected 2019
  • Lady Anya Sainsbury, elected 2019
  • Sir Kenneth Grange, elected 2019
  • Dr Kartar Lalvani, elected 2018
  • Sir Mark Walport, elected 2018
  • Dame Margaret Weston, elected 2018 (d. 2021)
  • HRH The Princess Royal, elected 2018
  • Timothy Peake, elected 2017
  • Sir Venki Ramakrishnan, elected 2017
  • Professor Dame Ann Dowling, elected 2016
  • Dr Helen Sharman, elected 2016
  • Rt Hon George Osborne, elected 2016
  • Professor Dame Nancy Rothwell, elected 2016
  • Sir David Harding, elected 2015
  • Professor John O’Keefe, elected 2015
  • Alexei Arkhipovich Leonov, elected 2015 (d. 2019)
  • Deputy Prime Minister of the Russian Federation Ms Olga Golodets,
    elected 2015
  • Dr Valentina Tereshkova, elected 2015
  • Queen Elizabeth II, elected 2014 (d. 2022)
  • His Royal Highness The Duke of Edinburgh, elected 2014 (d.2021)
  • Dr Douglas Gurr, elected 2014
  • Professor Peter Higgs, elected 2013 (d. 2024)
  • The Lord Rees of Ludlow, elected 2013
  • Michael G Wilson, elected 2013
  • Professor Stephen Hawking, elected 2012 (d. 2018)
  • Professor Rolf-Dieter Heuer, elected 2012
  • Sir David Attenborough, elected 2010
  • Professor Dame Jocelyn Bell-Burnell, elected 2010
  • Professor Dame Athene Donald, elected 2010
  • Baroness Susan Greenfield, elected 2010
  • James Lovelock, elected 2010 (d. 2022)
  • Professor Wangari Maathai, elected 2010 (d.2011)
  • Sir James Black, elected 2009 (d.2010)
  • Sir John Cornforth, elected 2009 (d.2013)
  • Professor Christian de Duve, elected 2009 (d.2013)
  • Professor Antony Hewish, elected 2009 (d. 2021)
  • Sir Timothy Hunt, elected 2009
  • Sir Andrew Huxley, elected 2009 (d.2012)
  • Professor Brian Josephson, elected 2009
  • Sir Harold Kroto, elected 2009 (d.2016)
  • Sir Anthony Leggett, elected 2009
  • Sir Peter Mansfield, elected 2009 (d.2017)
  • Sir Paul Nurse, elected 2009
  • Sir Richard Roberts, elected 2009
  • Sir Martin Smith, elected 2009
  • Professor Sir John Sulston, elected 2009 (d. 2018)
  • Sir John Walker, elected 2009